Prempeh College wins 2017 NSMQ

The ‘Amanfour’ boys, Prempeh College secured the bragging rights as winners of the 2017 National Science & Maths Quiz after beating reigning champions Adisadel College and St. Thomas Aquinas Senior High School.

At the end of the competition, Prempeh College obtained 53pts with St. Thomas Aquinas emerging 2nd with 51pts, followed by Adisadel College with 31pts.

It was a tight competition as students  from the three schools were engaged in a serious mind battle till the end of the final round.

This is Prempeh College’s fourth title, whereas Aquinas won in 2013 and Adisadel winning for the first time in 2016.

Presbyterian Boys School (PRESEC), Legon, remains the school with the highest (5) national titles.

The programme is very popular among Senior High School students, former students (old boys and girls), who take great pride in the performance of their schools in the competition.

The Prof. Henrietta Mensa-Bonsu award for the best female contestant was awarded to Zuweira Baba Mohammed from Tamale SHS. Zuweira gets a cash prize of GHC5,000.

Kwaku Mensa-Bonsu award for most successful team went to Nifa SHS. The team gets GHC7,000. Prof. Ewurama Addy award for the most outstanding team went to Tamale SHS. They get a cash prize of GHC2000. This award was instituted by Bubune Adih, a contestant of the Mfantsipim School’s 1999 winning team

All the semifinalists get GHC10,000 each: GHC5,000 to the school, GHC2,500 to the contestants and 2,500 to the teachers.



About the author

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply