Don’t reward EC Chair: AFAG to Chatham House

The Alliance for Accountable Governance (AFAG) has expressed strong reservations about the nomination of the Chairperson of Ghana’s Electoral Commission (EC), Charlotte Osei, for the 2017 Chatham House Prize.

Mrs Osei was shortlisted for the prestigious Chatham House prize to be awarded by the Royal Institute of International Affairs of the U.K for what they describe as her admirable supervision of a peaceful and transparent 2016 election.

According to AFAG, the electoral processes leading to the 2016 general elections was fraught with a series of courts cases, anxiety and demonstrations which nearly plunged the country into chaos.

In a letter addressed to the president of The Royal Institute of International Affairs to justify why Mrs Osei does not deserve to be nominated for the award, AFAG said the successful outcome of the 2016 presidential and parliamentary elections was largely the contribution of peace-loving Ghanaians and must not be credited to the chair of the commission.



About the author

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply